RSS

Are Social Media Community Managers the new 411 Operators?

22 Nov

I’ve been thinking a lot lately about how my colleagues and I are forging a new profession and figuring things out as we go.

One question I have is, how do we sustain an activity that is essentially a 24/7, 365 days per year job?  Have we painted ourselves into a corner where we are at the beck and call of our social networks round the clock?  Have we become the new 411 operators?  

As you approach Thanksgiving and the December holidays, what is your plan for monitoring and participating in your social media accounts?  Are you taking some time off?  Is that allowed?  Will you schedule tweets and peek in to see what’s going on once in a while?

What about your personal accounts?  With Klout scores now updating daily, can you afford to be off the grid for a few days?

These are just some of the questions that I have been pondering.  Would love to hear how you are handling the holidays and social media, whether or not you’re a community manager.

Best wishes for a relaxing Thanksgiving and lots of Black Friday Foursquare deals!

 
8 Comments

Posted by on November 22, 2010 in Social Media, Uncategorized

 

Tags: ,

8 responses to “Are Social Media Community Managers the new 411 Operators?

  1. Alicia

    November 22, 2010 at 10:21 AM

    Kelly,

    This is a great question. The community manager profession is still growing and developing, and with social media changing daily, how can we set a direct career path? I think over the holidays I will keep tweeting and posting just less frequently. We still need to be contributing to our brand’s social media but everyone does deserve a holiday. And with mobile devices and their growing technology it isn’t difficult to stay connected!

     
    • kellylux

      November 22, 2010 at 5:14 PM

      Hi Alicia,
      Thanks for your comments. I think your question about setting a career path is valid…we really have no way of knowing what this will evolve into. Just speaks to the need to continually stay on top of what is happening in our field, as well as going beyond into more technical aspects of the job. Enjoy your Thanksgiving!

       
  2. Kirk Baumann

    November 22, 2010 at 10:25 AM

    Kelly,

    You bring up a good point. Social media has taken over our lives (in some good and bad ways). I find it hard to pry myself away from my network’s updates, hoping to find some good nuggets of information for later.

    Here’s my plan: 1. Flag great content, comment on it, and schedule it to tweet throughout the week. 2. Monitor my @replies, DMs, LinkedIn connection requests, etc., so I’m responding in a timely (note: that doesn’t mean immediate) manner. 3. Enjoy time with my family and friends, eating lots of great food and watching some serious football.

    And maybe a little Black Friday shopping…. 🙂

    Have a wonderful Thanksgiving!

    Kirk Baumann
    Director of Career Connections
    SIFE USA – http://www.sife.org
    Blog: http://www.campus-to-career.com

     
    • kellylux

      November 22, 2010 at 5:15 PM

      Kirk,
      Thanks for taking the time to comment. I think you’ve got a great plan there. Everything doesn’t have to be tweeted the moment we see it. Checking in from time to time is always necessary, and watching some great football comes in right up there ;). Enjoy your holiday!

       
  3. daniel grannis

    November 22, 2010 at 4:45 PM

    Kelly,

    Great questions – I am relatively new to LinkedIn, and I am soon to embark on a Facebook marketing campaign for another site (www.streetwize.biz.) Already I am bit anxious being thrust into a new paradigm of being expected to be instant (and constant) communication. I tend to spend a couple of hours per week on LinkedIn presently, scheduling time to respond. I’ll most liekly use the same approach with Facebook and twiiter(once I join). For the holidays I’mmgoing to read, write and spend time with my family as a priority. I’ll try to get the shopping in on weekdays (!)

    Happy Thanksgiving!

    Daniel Grannis

     
    • kellylux

      November 22, 2010 at 5:17 PM

      Daniel,
      I appreciate your comments and welcome you to our wonderful world of social media! You will find that things on Twitter move much faster than either LinkedIn or Facebook, so prepare yourself. When you join, I hope you follow me so I can follow back…you might want to join in Community Manager chat that happens on twitter every Wednesday at 2pm. We have a great community of social media professionals sharing information there. Happy Thanksgiving to you too!

       
  4. Kaleigh

    November 22, 2010 at 8:08 PM

    Kelly,

    You pose an interesting question, but I think there is a clear divide here, depending on what sort of services your company/brand provides. In the B2C arena, social media is very heavily focused around customer service, and that in many cases..unfortunately is a 24/7/365 job (which adds another interesting layer to the already ultra-complicated job description of a community manager), but I digress.

    Luckily for me and the communities I manage, social media interaction is less about immediate reconciliation of customer service-type problems and more about becoming thought leaders. And that I think, can be shut off for a few days with friends and family 🙂

    Hope you have a nice, relaxing Thanksgiving!

    Kaleigh

     
    • kellylux

      November 22, 2010 at 8:28 PM

      Kayleigh, That is an excellent distinction. I think the space where I live is a bit of both…and we’re still trying to navigate how that all plays out. Thanks for your comment and have a great Thanksgiving ;0

       

Leave a Reply

 
