RSS

Don’t take chances with your chances

25 Feb

I say this time and time again, but I will say it again.  The more people that know you are looking for a job and what kind of job you are looking for, the better.

Here’s a success story.  A recent grad came to me a few months ago on a drop-in basis.  She was somewhat depressed about the fact that she hadn’t yet found a job.  I assured her that it wasn’t her fault and that many people from her graduating class were in the same boat.  By the time she left my office she said she was feeling better and more confident.

Over the next several weeks, I helped her connect with a couple of recruiters, gave her some advice on writing an e-mail to a networking contact and tried to buoy her spirits whenever I could.

Yesterday, a recruiter from a national corporation came by my office and talked about what her company looks for in candidates for their management training program.  The recruiter happened to be from exactly the field my new grad has been looking for work in.  This recruiter was in town to conduct on-campus interviews and was also doing an informational session last night.  When I asked if she would consider a May grad, she said right away that she would, gave me her card and suggested that I invite my new grad to the informational session.

After passing along the information, I heard back last night from my alum that she just finished an interview with said recruiter and had been selected for a second round!  You can imagine my excitement when I heard this news!!

The moral of this story is, talk to people.  Go see someone in your career center.  Talk to your former colleagues, classmates, friends and family.  Let them know what you’re looking for.  For every person you talk to, you increase your chances that an opportunity will arise that they can connect you with.   It may seem a coincidence that a recruiter for the exact type of job my alum was looking for appeared in my office.  But it wasn’t a coincidence.  What happened was a direct result me having the information I needed when I met with this recruiter.  If the new grad had never visited my office, I would never have had the opportunity to connect her.

People want to help you.  Give them the chance.

 
2 Comments

Posted by on February 25, 2010 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: ,

2 responses to “Don’t take chances with your chances

  1. Jenna lundemo

    February 26, 2010 at 2:16 AM

    Thank you for this insight. I am a senior at the University of Nevada Reno and I lost my job at the end of December due to the hard economic times. I have been focused on school, but I am also trying to use the time I have on campus to talk to people and network. I appreciate your view.

     
    • kellylux

      February 26, 2010 at 12:01 PM

      Hi Jenna, You are doing the right thing by tring to network. No matter what else you do in your job search, the networking will most likely end up being the most important. Good luck!

       

Leave a Reply

 
